Mobile Participation Lab "MobiLab"

Foto des mobilen Partizipationslabor MobiLabJudith Müller

MobiLab

Welcome to the mobile participation lab "MobiLab"

The "MobiLab" was created in 2021 as a mobile participation lab in the form of a tiny house through a cooperation of the research group "Karlsruhe Transformation Center for Sustainability and Cultural Change" at ITAS and the KIT-Center Humans and Technology. It represents a platform for the exchange of science and society and can be used for various forms of participatory research, citizen science, science communication as well as for participation and dialogue with society. The MobiLab is a novelty. Both the concept and the realization as a multifunctional tiny house produced in a sustainable way are unique.

Thanks to flexible equipment, state-of-the-art IT and optional furnishing of the surrounding outdoor space, experiments and many other formats of transdisciplinary and transformative research as well as bidirectional knowledge transfer can be conducted 'on site' with the MobiLab. Modern IT also helps to adequately illustrate the often technical and complex topics - such as autonomous driving, geothermal energy or climate change - e.g. via simulations.

 Screenshot YouTube_Randolph Liem/ITAS
Background

The MobiLab is based on the experience of the "Quartier Zukunft - Labor Stadt" (QZ) real laboratory, which has been implementing and researching contributions to sustainable urban development and a culture of sustainability in Karlsruhe since 2012. It became clear early on that research in and with society cannot succeed within the university, in the 'ivory tower'. The dialogue between scientists and social actors at eye level as a criterion for the success of good transdisciplinary and transformative research requires a presence in the midst of society. MobiLab thus combines and extends the functionality of the "Future Space" (from 2015) as a local, highly visible address, work and meeting space of the Reallabor and the Quartier-Zukunft-Mobil (from 2013), a heavy-duty bicycle that enabled mobile presence and interaction in urban space.

The MobiLab was realized under the leadership of the Karlsruhe Transformation Center for Sustainability and Cultural Change (KAT) at ITAS and MuT in cooperation with a number of other partner institutions. MuT and KAT jointly coordinate its use. The construction was financed by funds from the KIT Excellence Initiative "Living the Change".

 Judith Müller
Possible Use Cases

Thanks to flexible equipment, state-of-the-art IT and optional furnishing of the surrounding outdoor space, experiments and many other formats of transdisciplinary and transformative research as well as bidirectional knowledge transfer can be conducted 'on site' with the MobiLab. Modern IT also helps to adequately illustrate the often technical and complex topics - such as autonomous driving, deep geothermal energy, climate change, etc. - e.g. via simulations.


As a transdisciplinary infrastructure, MobiLab is an investment in the future for the entire real-laboratory research at KIT in the long term and will be available to all KIT research and development projects with real-laboratory relevance in the future. In particular, it will support - as a common, connecting research tool - the real labs and real-world lab professorships at KIT.


MobiLab can be used by all KIT research institutions that want to conduct sustainability-oriented real-lab research or transdisciplinary research. For further information and if you are interested in using it, please contact: mobilab-kokreis∂lists.kit.edu.

Latest Events

Eucor-MobiLab Roadshow starts on June 26, 2023

Finally the time has come, the MobiLab goes on tour through the Upper Rhine region! The Eucor MobiLab Roadshow will start on June 26, 2023 at 17.00 in Freiburg im Breisgau with an opening ceremony. Afterwards, the MobiLab will be in Freiburg for four more days with a diverse program. Come by and feel free to pass on the event information.  In September and October, the other stops will be in Basel, Kehl, Strasbourg, Karlsruhe and Mulhouse. For more info, visit the Eucor-MobiLab Roadshow website.

To the Eucor-Mobilab Roadshow
Screenshot der EUCOR Workshop-Teilnehmenden auf MS TeamsSofia Ganter_Uni Freiburg_MS Teams
MobiLab Tour through the Eucor-Region 2023

During the digital workshop for the upcoming MobiLab Roadshow through the Eucor region, scientists and Eucor speakers from the universities in Karlsruhe, Strasbourg, Basel, Freiburg and Mulhouse met on December 2. The thematic focus of the tour was further developed and organizational aspects were discussed. In January, a follow-up workshop with all participants of the tour will take place in Karlsruhe.

More
 Judith Müller
Eucor MobiLab Roadshow Interest Workshop on 02.12.2022

In 2023, the MobiLab will go on tour through the Eucor region and will make guest appearances at the universities of Strasbourg, Basel, and Freiburg. In addition, it will be part of the Science Week program at KIT. Those who are interested in using this event to do research at MobiLab were welcome to participate in the Interest Workshop on December 02, 2022. Registrations could be sent to Thomas Heine.

MORE (PDF)
Logo von Podcast Labor ZukunftQuartier Zukunft
Labor Zukunft: "MobiLab- ein tiny house auf Tour für euch"

What is the idea behind MobiLab? How does a workshop in it work? What opportunities do Tinyhouses offer for more sustainability? In the podcast episode of Quartier Zukunft "Labor Zukunft - Forschung ohne Kittel" ran on November 29, 2022 at 20.00 the new episode, in which everything revolves around the MobiLab. Live as in the webstream of Campusradio and on 104.8 UkW. The episode can also be found on the Spotify channel of Labor Zukunft.

More
Hand hält einen Baum mit digitalen Nachhaltigkeitssymbolen außenherumAdobe Stock_Proxima Studio
Karlsruhe Energy and Climate Festival

As a contribution to the nation-wide Energy and Sustainability Days 2022, the MobiLab will be located on the Karlsruhe Festplatz on 24 September 2022. Together with the city of Karlsruhe, the energy network fokus.energie e.V. and the KEK, the team of the KAT offers interesting information, actions, workshops, program on the topic.

MORE
Menschen auf dem Weg: Karlsruher Tage der Demokratie 2022
Days of Democracy 2022 at Kronenplatz Karlsruhe

What can a sustainable transformation of our cities look like? The MobiLab on Karlsruhe's Kronenplatz will be offering information, hands-on activities and a citizens' survey on sustainability as part of the Karlsruhe Democracy Days from September 14-17, 2022.

MORE
Person schreibt mit Stift auf KIT Block.
KIT Topic Advisory Board

On July 7 2022, the MobiLab provides the framework for the visit of the reviewers of the Helmholtz Energy System Design (ESD) program. Location is the Energy Lab 2.0 at KIT, which exemplifies intelligent possibilities of energy generation and storaging.

MORE
KIT
MobiLab in Grötzingen

From May 13 to 20 2022, the MobiLab is located at the market place in Grötzingen. In cooperation with the "Karlsruher Energie- und Klimaschutzagentur" and the local group of Friends of the Earth, aAmong other things, a workshop on balcony solar panels was organized.

MORE
Menschen kommen für die Frühlingstage der Nachhaltigkeit zusammen
Spring Days of Sustainability

MobiLab will be at the Campus South from 28.03.2022-01.04.2022. We offer a diverse program consisting of workshops, hands-on activities and information opportunities about the activities of MuT and KAT.

MORE
Radfahrt durch den Wald
MobiLab at Waldstadtzentrum Karlsruhe

The mobile participation lab (MobiLab) invites you to a colorful program around sustainability, sustainable living, climate change, photovoltaics and engagement at the Waldstadtzentrum in Karlsruhe from 29.6. - 4.7.2022.

MORE
Mobilab mit Menschen die davor sitzenJudith Müller
"KIT im Rathaus"

On Monday, July 18, 2022 at 6:30 p.m., the KIT-Center Humans and Technology will present itself to the Karlsruhe public under the motto "Shaping Change". Complementary to the event, MobiLab will make a guest appearance from July 18-20 with a public program on the Marktplatz in front of the city hall. Research at the center can be experienced directly here, for example in the form of the "Science Bench". We are looking forward to your visit!

MORE
gemaltes Bild von Menschen vor dem mobilen Partizipationslabor "MobiLab"ITAS_Johanna Sterrer
Das MobiLab at the „Offerta“

From 30.10. to 05.11.21, the MobiLab was presented to the general public at the Offerta consumer trade fair. It serves the Tiny House e.V. as a demonstration object. A special show on the topic of Tiny Houses was held at the exhibition center in Rheinstetten in Hall 2, which served as preparation for the separate large Tiny House exhibition to be held the following year. Subsequently, the MobiLab was used as a venue for a citizens:inside dialogue on 06. and 07.11.21 as part of the KARLA project.

MORE
Sektgläser vor Mensch, der auf Bühne sprichtITAS
Opening the MobiLab

The MobiLab was officially opened on September 22, 2021. In best early autumn weather, contributors and interested people gathered to officially open the mobile participation lab for use and to celebrate this moment with a cider christening. Prof. Dr. Ingrid Ott, Dr. Oliver Parodi as well as architect Prof. Randolf Liem gave short speeches outlining the planning and completion process and acknowledging the efforts of all involved.

Mobiles Partizipationslabor "MobiLab"

Foto des mobilen Partizipationslabor MobiLabJudith Müller
Das MobiLab ist eine mobile Infrastruktur für Forschung und Wissenschaftskommunikation

Das „MobiLab“ entstand 2021 als ein mobiles Partizipationslabor in Form eines Tiny House durch eine Kooperation des KIT-Zentrums Mensch und Technik und des Karlsruher Transformationszentrum für Nachhaltigkeit und Kulturwandel (KAT). Es stellt eine Plattform für den Austausch von Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft dar, und ist für vielfältige Formen partizipativer Forschung, Citizen Science, der Wissenschaftskommunikation sowie Partizipation und Dialog einsetzbar. Das MobiLab ist ein Novum. Sowohl das Konzept als auch die Realisierung als möglichst nachhaltig produziertes, multifunktionales Tiny House ist einzigartig. Das MobiLab hat einen innovative Governance-Struktur, die offen für die Beteiligung ist.

 Screenshot YouTube_Randolph Liem/ITAS
Entstehungsgeschichte

Das MobiLab geht auf die Erfahrungen des Reallabors „Quartier Zukunft – Labor Stadt“ (QZ) zurück, das seit 2012 in Karlsruhe Beiträge für ein nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung und eine Kultur der Nachhaltigkeit realisiert und erforscht. Schon früh wurde klar, dass das Forschen in und mit der Gesellschaft nicht innerhalb der Universität, im ‚Elfenbeinturm‘, gelingen kann. Der Dialog von Wissenschaftlerinnen und gesellschaftlichen Akteuren auf Augenhöhe als Gelingenskriterium guter transdisziplinärer und transformativer Forschung bedarf der Präsenz in mitten der Gesellschaft. Das MobiLab kombiniert und erweitert so die Funktionalität des „Zukunftsraum“ (ab 2015) als lokale, weithin sichtbare Adresse, Arbeits- und Begegnungsraum des Reallabors und des Quartier-Zukunft-Mobils (ab 2013), eines Schwerlastenfahrrads, das die mobile Präsenz und Interaktion im Stadtraum ermöglichte.

 

Das MobiLab wurde unter Federführung des KIT-Zentrum Mensch und Technik und des Karlsruher Transformationszentrum für Nachhaltigkeit und Kulturwandel (KAT) am ITAS in Kooperation mit einer Reihe weiterer Partnereinrichtungen realisiert. Die Nutzung koordinieren MuT und KAT gemeinsam. Finanziert wurde der Bau aus Mitteln der KIT Exzellenzinitiative „Living the Change“.

 Judith Müller
Nutzungsmöglichkeiten

Dank einer flexiblen Ausstattung, modernster IT und einer optionalen Möblierung des umgebenden Außenraums können mit dem MobiLab Experimente und viele weitere Formate transdisziplinärer und transformativer Forschung sowie bidirektionalen Wissenstransfers ‚on site‘ durchgeführt werden. Die moderne IT hilft dabei auch, die oft technischen und komplexen Themen – wie Autonomes Fahren, Tiefengeothermie, Klimawandel, etc. – z. B. über Simulationen adäquat zu veranschaulichen.


Das MobiLab ist langfristig als transdisziplinäre Infrastruktur eine Investition in die Zukunft für die gesamte Reallaborforschung am KIT und soll künftig allen Forschungs- und Entwicklungsvorhaben des KIT mit Reallaborbezug zur Verfügung stehen. Insbesondere wird es – als gemeinsames, verbindendes Forschungstool – die Reallabore und Real-world Lab Professorships am KIT unterstützen.


Genutzt werden kann das MobiLab von allen Forschungseinrichtungen des KIT, die nachhaltigkeitsorientierte Reallaborforschung oder transdisziplinäre Forschungen durchführen möchten. Für weitere Informationen sowie bei Interesse für eine Nutzung wenden Sie sich an: mobilab-kokreis∂lists.kit.edu.

MobiLab-Einsätze

Eucor-MobiLab Roadshow startet am 26. Juni 2023

Endlich ist es soweit, das MobiLab geht auf Tour durch das Oberrheingebiet! Die Eucor-MobiLab Roadshow startet am 26. Juni 2023 um 17.00 in Freiburg im Breisgau mit einer Eröffnungsfeier. Im Anschluss wird das MobiLab für vier weitere Tage in Freiburg mit einem abwechslungsreichen Programm zu Gast sein. Kommen Sie vorbei und geben Sie die Veranstaltungsinformation gerne weiter. Im September und Oktober finden dann die weiteren Stationen in Basel, Kehl, Strasbourg, Karlsruhe und Mulhouse statt. Weitere Infos finden Sie auf der Eucor-MobiLab Roadshow Website.

Zur Eucor-Mobilab Roadshow
Screenshot der EUCOR Workshop-Teilnehmenden auf MS TeamsSofia Ganter_Uni Freiburg_MS Teams
MobiLab Tour durch den Eucor-Raum 2023

Während des digitalen Workshops zur bevorstehenden MobiLab Roadshow durch den Eucor-Raum kamen am 2. Dezember Wissenschaftler:innen und Eucor-Referent:innen von den Universitäten in Karlsruhe, Straßburg, Basel, Freiburg und Mulhouse zusammen. Der thematische Fokus der Tour wurde weiterentwickelt sowie organisatorische Aspekte besprochen. Im Januar wird ein Follow-up Workshop mit allen Mitwirkenden der Tour in Karlsruhe stattfinden.

MEHR INFOS
  Judith Müller
Eucor MobiLab Roadshow Interest Workshop am 02. Dezember 2022

Das MobiLab geht 2023 auf Tour durch den Eucor-Raum und gastiert an den Universitäten Strasbourg, Basel und Freiburg. Darüber hinaus wird es Teil des Programms der Science Week am KIT sein. Interessierte, diesen Anlass zum Forschen am MobiLab zu nutzen, konnten am Interest Workshop am 02. Dezember 2022 teilnehmen. Anmeldungen: Thomas Heine.

MEHR INFOS (PDF)
Logo von Podcast Labor ZukunftQuartier Zukunft
Labor Zukunft: "MobiLab- ein tiny house auf Tour für euch" - neue Podcast Folge am 29. November 2022 um 20:00 Uhr

Was ist die Idee hinter dem MobiLab? Wie läuft ein Workshop darin ab? Welche Chancen bieten Tinyhouses für mehr Nachhaltigkeit? In der Podcast-Folge des Quartier Zukunft "Labor Zukunft - Forschung ohne Kittel" lief am 29. November 2022 um 20.00 die neue Folge, in der sich alles um das MobiLab dreht. Live wie im Webstream des Campusradio und auf 104,8 UkW. Die Folge ist auch auf dem Spotify Kanal von Labor Zukunft zu finden.

MEHR INFOS
Hand hält einen Baum mit digitalen Nachhaltigkeitssymbolen außenherumAdobe Stock_Proxima Studio
Energie- und Klimafestival am 24. September auf dem Karlsruher Festplatz

Als Beitrag zu den landesweiten Energie- und Nachhaltigkeitstagen 2022 steht das MobiLab am 24. September auf dem Karlsruher Festplatz. Gemeinsam mit der Stadt Karlsruhe, dem Energienetzwerk fokus.energie e.V. und der KEK bietet das Team des KAT interessante Infos, Aktionen, Workshops, Programm und Anregungen zum Thema.

MEHR INFOS
Menschen auf dem Weg: Karlsruher Tage der Demokratie 2022
Tage der Demokratie vom 14.-17. September 2022 am Kronenplatz Karlsruhe

Wie kann eine nachhaltige Transformation unserer Städte aussehen? Das MobiLab auf dem Karlsruher Kronenplatz bietet im Rahmen der Karlsruher Tage der Demokratie vom 14.-17. September 2022 Infos, Mitmach-Aktionen und Bürger:innen-Befragung zur Nachhaltigkeit.

MEHR INFOS
Person schreibt mit Stift auf KIT Block.
KIT Themenbeirat am 07. Juli 2022 am Energy Lab 2.0, Campus Nord

Das MobiLab bietet am 07.07.2022 den Rahmen für den Besuch der Gutachter:innen des Helmholtz Programms Energiesystemdesign (ESD). Standort ist das Energy Lab 2.0 am Campus Nord, in dem die intelligente Verknüpfung verschiedener Energieerzeugungs-, Speicher- und Bereitstellungsmöglichkeiten erlebbar wird.

MEHR INFOS
KIT
MobiLab steht vom 13.-20. Mai 2022 am Rathausplatz in Grötzingen

Vom 13.05.2022 bis zum 20.05.2022 finden Sie das MobiLab am Rathausplatz in Grötzingen. In Kooperation mit der Karlsruher Energie- und Klimaschutzagentur und den Naturfreunden findet u.a. ein praxisorientierter Balkonsolar-Workshop für Bürger:innen statt.

MEHR INFOS
Menschen kommen für die Frühlingstage der Nachhaltigkeit zusammen
Fühlingstage der Nachhaltigkeit vom 28. März bis zum 01. April 2022 am Campus Süd

Das MobiLab steht vom 28.03.2022-01.04.2022 am Campus Süd. Wir bieten ein vielfältiges Programm, bestehend aus Workshops, Mitmachaktionen und Informationsmöglichkeiten zu den Aktivitäten von MuT und KAT.

MEHR INFOS
Radfahrt durch den Wald
MobiLab vom 29. Juni bis zum 04. Juli 2022 am Waldstadtzentrum Karlsruhe

Das KAT und MuT laden in Kooperation mit dem Bürgerverein Waldstadt und dem ARTerlier Waldstadt in die Karlsruher Waldstadt ein. Vom 29.6.2022 bis zum 4.7.2022 steht das mobile Partizipationslabor (MobiLab) dort und schafft so einen Raum für ein buntes Programm zu den Themen Nachhaltigkeit, nachhaltiges Leben, Klimawandel, Photovoltaik und Engagement.

MEHR INFOS
Mobilab mit Menschen die davor sitzenJudith Müller
KIT am 18. Juli 2022 um 18:30 Uhr im Rathaus

Am Montag, 18. Juli 2022 um 18:30 Uhr stellt das KIT-Zentrum Mensch und Technik sich unter dem Motto „Wandel gestalten“ der Karlsruher Öffentlichkeit vor. Ergänzend zur Veranstaltung KIT im Rathaus gastiert das MobiLab mit einem öffentlichen Programm auf dem Marktplatz vor dem Rathaus. Forschung am Zentrum kann hier ganz direkt erfahren werden, etwa in Form der "Science Bench". Wir freuen uns auf Ihren Besuch!

Programm (PDF)
gemaltes Bild von Menschen vor dem mobilen Partizipationslabor "MobiLab"ITAS_Johanna Sterrer
Das MobiLab vom 30. Oktober bis zum 05. November 2021 zu Gast auf der „Offerta“

Vom 30.10. bis 05.11.21 stellte sich das MobiLab auf der Endverbrauchermesse Offerta einer breiten Öffentlichkeit vor. Es diente dem Tiny House e.V. als Demonstrationsobjekt. Auf dem Messegelände in Rheinstetten in der Halle 2 fand eine Sonderschau zum Thema Tiny Houses statt, die als Vorbereitung für die im folgenden Jahr stattfindende separate große Tiny House Ausstellung fungierte. Im Anschluss wurde das MobiLab am 06. und 07.11.21 im Rahmen des KARLA Projekts als Ort für einen Bürger:innendialog genutzt.

MEHR INFOS
Sektgläser vor Mensch, der auf Bühne sprichtITAS
Eröffnung MobiLab am 22. September 2021 am Campus Süd

Das MobiLab wurde am 22. September 2021 feierlich eröffnet. Bei bestem Frühherbstwetter kamen Mitwirkende und Interessierte zusammen, um das mobile Partizipationslabor offiziell für die Nutzung frei zu geben und diesen Moment mit einer Cidre-Taufe zu feiern. Prof. Dr. Ingrid Ott, Dr. Oliver Parodi sowie der Architekt Prof. Randolf Liem hielten kurze Ansprachen, die den Planungs- und Fertigstellungsprozess umrissen und die Anstrengungen aller Beteiligten würdigten.